top of page
Search
  • Lucy Winnicott

ADAPTING 'SQUISHKIND' FOR ASYLUM, PECKHAM



The rustic 1836 chapel, Asylum offers a lot of historical and visual interest but is not a large exhibition space which does not particularly lend itself to the scale of the work. I think it is important, however, to adapt work to its surrounding especially as my work itself is adaptive through the abstract forms and white surface. ‘Squishkind’ consists of five large scale soft sculptures, for this London show I will be reducing it to just three (‘Spikey, ‘Flat Ring’ and one part of ‘Double Seat’) to ensure the work does not overpower the space and others work, I've got to be mindful that it is a group exhibition and for it to work the space must be used as an extension of the collective thought not just my own work placed where it might stick out (for the wrong reasons).



When first viewing the space through images the install team sent us, I want my work quite central (see first image) as when I imagine the soft-play area it would make sense to have it in a central location for ease of access and interaction. But I quickly decided against this as I think it will block others work as my work is large and it would be logistically impractical and unfair for people to have to navigate around my work/ install their own pieces It would be best if I displayed my work in a corner, so that way the sculptures are up against the wall to maximise space (see second and third image), moreover, the projection would be most successful in this kind of location because there will not be as much light and the coloured images will filter onto the wall creating an interesting contrast and micro, intimate environment for play.


The set up for my work is relatively simple, it includes three large white faux leather sculptures (size varied) and a projector on the floor using its stand to tilt it up towards the sculpture. The cable to the projector will be taped down and connected to the nearest plug socket. The sculptures, through viewer’s participants and myself, will change the formation of the sculptures daily responding to the contours of the building so it become an evolving, adaptable play space.


I think the bold, playful, and interactive nature of ‘Squishkind’ will produce an interesting aesthetic juxtaposition to the distressed Asylum.­­

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page